Login Societies Home

Economics Department @ SVC

Economics is the social science that is concerned with the production, distribution, and consumption of goods and services. Economics aims to explain how economies work and how economic agents interact. Economic analysis is applied throughout society, in business, finance and government. At the time of its inception in 1961, the Department of Economics offered only the Economics courses of the B.A (Pass) and B.Com (Pass) programme. It was in 1973, under the leadership of the then Principal Dr. V. Krishna murthy and under the intellectual guidance of Prof. K. L. Krishna of the Delhi School of Economics, the Department introduced the B.A (Hons.) Economics' programme. The members of the Department in the early years were Mr. I. P. Nijawan, Mr. T. N. Rao, Mr. Nehchal Singh, Dr. E. K. Rao, Dr. A. Tirupati Raju and Mr. R. Thulsidas. Later three more teachers joined the team- Dr. U. N. Murthy, Mr. P. K. Mohanthy and Mr. Amitab Pandey. In 1982, Dr. Padma Suresh and Mr. V. A. Ramaraju joined the department, followed by Mrs. Aruna Rao in 1983. In 2001 Mr. P.S. Gangadhar joined the Department followed by Mr. Krishna Kumar in 2003. Mr. D. Brahma Reddy joined the department in 2004 followed by Mrs. Suchismita Sinha Ray in 2005 and Shailaja S. Thakur in 2006. The Department of Economics offers the B.A (Hons) Economics as per the guidelines and syllabus set by Department of Economics, Delhi School of Economics . The Economics Honours programme of Sri Venkateswara College is one of the most sought after programmes in University of Delhi. The department also handles the economics courses of B. Com (Hons.), B.A Programme and B Com Programme, as per the guidelines of the University of Delhi.


  • Dr.M.Padma Suresh
  • Dr.V.A.Rama Raju
  • Ms.Aruna Rao
  • Mr.S.Krishna Kumar
  • Mr.D.Brahma Reddy
  • Dr.Shailaja S. Thakur
  • Ms.N.Kalithasammal
  • Ms. Meenakshi Sharma
  • Mr. Ankit Joshi
  • 10. Mr. Jitesh Rana (Adhoc)
  • Mr. Amit Kumar Jha