Login Societies Home

Botany Department @ SVC

The Department of Botany has its beginning in this college since 1973 with the introduction of B.Sc (G) B group course of University of Delhi. The B.Sc (H) Botany degree programme was introduced in 1974. Currently the faculty is engaged in teaching the undergraduate students of the B.Sc (H) Botany, B.Sc (H) Biological Sciences , B.Sc. Life Sciences and B.Sc (H) Zoology . Some of the faculty members are actively involved in teaching M.Sc Environmental Biology course of University of Delhi as well as in guiding the students in dissertation work (IGNOU and M.SC Environmental Biology). The Department has well equipped Laboratories for conducting practicals for the abovementioned undergraduate courses as well national workshops/ symposia and seminars. The Botanical garden maintained by the department caters to the needs of the students of above mentioned streams. During the past 34 years, the department has produced Seven University Toppers, amongst whom some are Gold Medalists. The Department is routinely producing toppers / second position holders among the south campus college in the B.Sc (H) Botany. The Students are well placed not only in India but also abroad in the fields of research, education and others like Medicine, Law etc. Some of the faculty members are actively involved in research, writing books and are resources persons for: Development of text books of NCERT, CBSE , IGNOU, NIOS and other extension works/ teachers training programmes of CBSE, NCERT and NIOS Indo- Swis Pulse Network Research programme. The Department has conducted: In collaboration with the chemistry Department of the college a National Workshiop sponsored by UGC in Chemistry of Microbial Metabolites for Lecturers of Indian Universities. A training programme in Biology practicals for postgraduate teachers of schools of Delhi. A workshop in Ecology for Delhi University College teachers (Zoology) for conducting practicals in Ecology.


  • Dr.Kalyani Krishna
  • Dr.Sunila Khurana
  • Dr.G.Poornachandra Rao
  • Dr.Shukla Saluja
  • Dr.Amit Vashishtha
  • Dr.Aditi Kothari Chhajer
  • Dr.Neeti Mehla
  • Dr.PoojaGokhleSinha
  • Dr. Yogendra Kumar Gautam
  • Dr. Tabassum Afshan
  • Dr. Pamil Tayal
  • Dr. Sunita Yadav
  • Ms. Neer Komal Singh
  • Dr. Ranjana Singh